News Tehrathum: Giri Samaj, Lisibung & Grameen Bikas Victorious In The Madan Memorial Tournament

Giri Samaj, Khamlalung, Lisibung and Grameen Bikas, Khamlalung emerged victorious in the men's side of the Madan Memorial Football Tournament held at the historic Atharai Madan Mela on Sunday. Similarly, Taplejung and Khamlalung have emerged victorious in the women's category.

In the first match of the men's side, Lisibung Sakranti defeated Fidim Sporting Club Panchthar 2-1. Sundar Limbu and Roshan Limbu scored for Sankranti while Mihang Nemwang scored a goal for Fidim. Sundar Limbu of Lisibung got a red card in the game. 

In the second match, Grameen Bikas, Khamlalung defeated CTEVT Technical College by a big margin of 7-0. Yuvaraj Lavung of Khamlalung scored 4 goals while Sandesh Limbu, Anup Sendang and Ashish Limbu scored 1 goal each to give the team the victory.

Similarly, Giri Bikas Yuwa Samaj, Khamlalung defeated Madan Mela Organizing Committee 2-1. Santu Phombo and Divas Limbu scored for Khamlalung while Susan Limbu scored for the organizers.

Women's Draw:

Karnasin Sonam Smriti Club of Taplejung and Khamlalung Chhoti Bazaar of Atharai emerged victorious in the women's event. In the first match, Taplejung defeated Budhanilkantha, Lisibung 3-0. Sinjata Gurung, Kumari Sherpa and Sanam Rai scored for Taplejung.

Similarly, Khamlalung Chhoti Bazaar of Atharai defeated Pokhari Ma.Vi. 3-1 in the another match. Jamuna Khawas, Asmita Limbu and Susmita Rai scored for Khamlalung while Karina Khawas scored a consolation goal for Pokhari Mavic.

The winning team of the 8 participating women's team will get Rs 65,000 in cash and the runners-up will get Rs 40,000 in cash. Similarly, the winner of the 18-team men's event will get Rs 1,35,000 in cash while the runner-up team will have to settle for Rs 75,000. The historic Madan Mela has been going on since 2015 BS.

Post Comments
Advertisement Yamaha Nepal